Choosing Christ…

I am sitting here reflecting on my relationship with Christ and I had such a great time doing so that I wanted to share a little about what I reflected on. First of all being here in Gulu is so great because I know that it’s God’s will for my life at this point in time. I know full well that He has called me here for a purpose. When I was in Kampala almost  two years ago I really felt a pull to stay in Uganda longer, but I didn’t follow that leading and instead chose my own route. The time after that up until I came back here 5 months ago I still really felt that pull that I needed to be back in Uganda. I knew that God had something for me here. I was reflecting on those things. I am learning so much about who God is and who I am in Christ. I am loving how much knowledge I am gaining from the wise men and women of God that are surrounding me. I am also growing emotionally. I am healing and renewing my mind through God’s word and through spending time alone with Him. I would challenge all of you reading this to spend time with God, as much as you can. I have really felt that God has been taking my past attitudes and feelings and molding them and shaping them more into what He would want them to be rather than what I would want them to be. Again, I challenge you to put God’s will before yours (trust me it’s hard but so so worth it). I am so glad that Christ has given me a peace about a lot of things in my life. The way that I am dealing with life’s ups and downs really show me that He is doing a mighty work in my life. I praise Him for that. The way that I respond to things that I don’t expect or may not have thought about,
God has allowed me to deal with them full of grace and understanding. Again, I praise Him for that.

I wanted to share with you these things in hopes that you may be encouraged to follow Christ and to submit your life and everything you say and do to Him. He knows best. One big thing for me lately is being totally satisfied and content with where God has me. It is an amazing thing when you find your contentment in Christ and nowhere else. I haven’t felt that in a long while. I used to put my contentment in other things and other people. But the freeing thing is putting yourself in a position where you find your completely satisfied in your walk with Christ and nothing else can compare to that.

Praise God for His discipline, love, truth, and the wisdom that He grants to those who submit.

“But as for you, O man of God, flee these things. Pursue righteousness, godliness, faith, love, steadfastness, gentleness.  Fight the good fight of the faith. Take hold of the eternal life to which you were called and about which you made the good confession in the presence of many witnesses.” 1 Timothy 6:11,12.

If we put our hope in Christ we will have a joy filled God honoring life. Choose Christ that you may live…

Lord bless you all.

til the nets are full,
Adam Hussey
adhussey@gmail.com
www.voiceinafrica.wordpress.com

7 Responses to “Choosing Christ…”

  1. Joshua Rattin Says:

    Thanks for the word Adam. We are blessed beyond measure with the very fact that God reveals His will in our lives at all- what an undeserved blessing! To think that we so often follow our own will shows how crazy we really are.

    Lets see: My will (200 pounds of flesh amongst the entire massive universe who’s lived just long enough for the earth to circle the sun 30 times) verses God’s will (creater of all the universe who’s lived for an eternity and exists outside of time…) Hmmm…

    I’m praying for you and anxiously wait to hear where God’s will takes you and what God’s will does through you in the future.

    In His Grace
    Josh

  2. Duff Says:

    I needed to read that today…thank for being real! keep fighting the good fight brother!

  3. The Triba Family Says:

    Adam,
    Thank you for your words. I too have been drawing close to Christ. And continually realize how much I need to draw close to Him and how everything I do and say needs to be for Him. Pastor Tom’s sermon really touched on that for the Easter service. When I am weak, He is strong. (2Corinthians 12:10).

    I am really battling anger in this season of my life. I think I have always had anger issues, but my eyes are so open to the pain of anger, not just in my life, but in my husband and children’s lives too. And when I try to handle anger without prayer or God’s word I am a mess. It is so humbling. And I become so exhausted. But I do cling to the old rugged cross and I look forward to the day I can exchange it for a crown and I will cherish the old rugged cross till my trophies(idols) at last I lay down.

    We will keep you in prayer and get your package out in the mail soon.

    Love in Christ, Carolyn

  4. Pastor Tom Says:

    Praise God brother I am proud of you!!

  5. Betsey Says:

    Love reading about your experiences. BEAUTIFUL picture of the group. What are some good things to send in a package? I have your address, but could you send it by email to confirm that I have it written correctly. Thanks!

  6. Kara Krantz Says:

    Adam, I’m really surprised by this. I guess I’ve just been really not aware of what some people have been up to. I had no idea that you (a) found God, (b) were in Uganda serving Him, (c) were such a devoted Christian.

    I’m really… proud of you, while at the same time, just surprised I guess! But I wish you all the strength and courage and joy that such a following requires.

  7. Chrissy Lloyd Says:

    Hi Adam, Love the picture! Wish I were there!!! I read up on all the blogging and was very inspired by what God is doing there and how much you have grown since the beginning of your writings. If you have time go back and read all you have written in a sitting if possible. WOW!!! You have grown. You touched on my favorite scripture which I love to hear when others really pick up on it, Phil. 4:11 “Actually, I don’t have a sense of needing anything personally. I’ve learned by now to be quite content whatever my circumstances. I’m just as happy with the little as with much, with much as with little. I’ve found the recipe for being happy whether full or hungry, hands full or hands empty.” The Message Jesus is our contentment and why we can be content no matter what changes occur in our lives and changes happen all the time, for the good and for the challanging of our faith and trust in Him. They say in the business field difficulties and problems are opportunities. I’d say they’ve hit it right on the nail, opportunity to trust God, grow in faith, learn to surrender to Christ what is already His. Thanks so much for sharing with us what our Lord and Savior is doing in that part of the world.

Leave a Reply

