Off to Prison…

No, not me! Today I went with the Men’s Ministry to a local prison here in Gulu where ACTION goes to minister once a week. Let me tell you, what a difference than US prisons, as you may have already guessed. It was a great experience. Not once did I ever feel scared or that I would be harmed in any way. We got there around 10am where about 75 gathered in a small room. They had a worship band that played thier local harp instruments and sang for about 30 minutes. Then Peter from ACTION gave the message. That lasted maybe one hour or so. Then more singing, and prayer to finish. We talked with one man who is the normal worship leader there, but today he didn’t lead. He told us that his father had died yesterday. 5 years ago there was a fight about his families land and another man. The man ended up being killed, so they put this guys family all in prison, all eight of them. They are awaiting thier trial, which he hopes will be in February. So, the entire family is in prison but not knowing if they are convicted of the actual crime yet. Things take a while to process apparently. Pretty crazy story. So pray for this young man and his family as they mourn thier fathers death, and for thier upcoming court date that there may be justice if that word even means anything in the court system here.

2 Responses to “Off to Prison…”

  1. Daniel Robert Maketansky Says:

    AD!!!!! i havent talked to you in so long and i miss you. It is deeply encouraging to me to read through your blog entries, (tonight i read them instead of reading a John Owen book, and they proved just as, if not more, encouraging to me in my walk with Christ). I praise God for the work he is enabling you to accomplish in Uganda. I am praying for you and your ministry often, brother, and look forward to seeing you again. And i want to come see you!

    — Danielson

    P.S. whatever you do, don’t forget about the turkeys at the Holland gym. ERRRRRRRRRRR!

  2. The Triba Family Says:

    What an education I a getting about the Ugandan Culture. Thanks for that short, but very informative blog. Thanks so much Jim and I love to hear what God is doing in your life and Uganda.

Leave a comment